Mahou Shoujo of the End by Kentaro Sato

Half way through the week, I am thankful the weekend is almost here. I really feel I need to buckle down and focus more on my work and studies, but as I am saying this, I am in class focusing on the wrong stuff. Oh well, I would like to give a little preface on this: I hate horror/psychologically f*** up manga. It is my least favorite genre on the face of the planet. I try my best to ignore it. Every once in a while, I want to be spontaneous and try something new, and I make the mistake of trying another. I cant imagine finding any of these good (or at  least continuing the manga for long). This one is a horror manga, and I read it because its about magical girls which is my absolute favorite.

101Plot:

Kii Kogami is a dull high school boy. He seems to hate how ‘normal’ or ‘average’ his life feels, but he is the type of person who will go out of his way to avoid adding stress to his life (even ignoring his friend being bullied). One day, as he is looking out the window, he sees a little Lolita girl attack and kill his professor. An Apocalypse begins. Soon the world is taken over by murderous magical girls, wiping all human life. It turns out that magical girls are descendant of a single witch, and their blood was somehow used to create this end of the world.

10Character:

Most of the characters die. I want to say about three or four of them are major characters, but I am not to sure. All I know is that the story is hella messed up. Plot twists everywhere.

Art:

Its well drawn, but extremely gory. The fan service is also too much, but you can get past that. The magical girls are pretty impressive. They can be creepy and cute at the same time, and take a dark twist to what magical girl powers are like.

Final Thoughts:

This is horrific, but really good as far as horror stories go. I loved this! I honestly thought I wouldn’t, but after getting deeper into the plot, I fell in love. At first it feels sickly and gory, but it got so good so fast. The twists really make it worth it, and I love the magical girls!

-Blog Barista

Leave a Reply

