Honest Myth:Mbuti- Khonvum

Mythology from African cultures as where as myths from eastern European cultures tend to be the hardest ones to find more information on. I just so happen to find this God, and I really liked his role with sun light and wanted to share.

I could not find any pictures of him, sorry. I found this stockphoto, and it reminded me of  a cartoon I watched as a kid, and I figure it was cute addition.

I could not find any pictures of him, sorry. I found this stockphoto, and it reminded me of a cartoon I watched as a kid, and I figure it was cute addition.

Khonvum is the creation god in the Bambuti/Mbuti mythology of the Pygmy people in the Congos. He is believed to have created man from clay, creating different races by using different different clay colors.

Khonvum is a great god of hunt as well. He made the animals meant for hunting for man to be able to get food.

He is depicted wielding a bow of two intertwined snakes that appear to humans as a rainbow. After each sunset, he collects fragments of stars into his satchel. He then throws those pieces into the sun so as to revitalize its brilliance for the next day (this is meant to explain why the sun becomes dim at night).

To contact mankind, he will either send Gor, the God of Thunder who looks like an elephant, or he will send a chameleon (I am not sure if he changes form into one or if they are his messengers).

Hope you enjoyed!

-Blog Barista

I have been using this book a lot lately. Its real large and very helpful: Edited by Grimal, Pierre. Larousse World Mythology. London: The Hamlyn Publishing Group Limited, 1965. Print.

Just a cute gif for you.

Just a cute gif for you.

Leave a Reply

