Honest Myths:Christian- Three Wise Men

It has been a very long time since my last post, and I am very sorry. I just finished my finals week and now break can begin. I don’t have anything super special planned, but since we are in the middle of the Holiday season, I plan on doing different Holiday based myths of Christmas and Hanukkah and so on. I am actually really excited. Mostly because it has been so very long since I got a chance to relax. I planned on doing a Thanksgiving myth, back in November, but my Thanksgiving Break (only 3 days) was basically spent working (my part time job) and doing school work. Right now I am just enjoying a bunch of books I checked out from my university, and I also plan on doing a post that reviews the 5 to 6 books I want to read. I guess we will see. Anyways I hope you guys enjoy the first part of my Holiday themed Honest Myths (this one may be a little short, but I really liked this part of the whole Nativity Scene in general).

If you know who the artist is, please tell me. Thank you

If you know who the artist is, please tell me. Thank you

The Three Wise Men, also known as the Biblical Magi or the Three Kings of the Orient, are foreigners that came to give gifts to Jesus, King of the Jews, at his birth. Not much is actually said in the Bible about them that explains how many there was or if they were really Kings, but traditionally it was believed that there was three and that they were wise kings.

"We Three Kings" by Simon Dewey. He sells his art. If you want to see his work go here: http://www.altusfineart.com/home/afa/smartlist_127/we_three_kings.html

“We Three Kings” by Simon Dewey. He sells his art. If you want to see his work go here: http://www.altusfineart.com/home/afa/smartlist_127/we_three_kings.html

The three kings are considered to be Melchior, Caspar, and Balthazar. Caspar was King of India and brought the gift of frankincense. Balthazar was King of Arabia and brought myrrh. And Melchior was King of Persia, and he brought gold. Some believe that the Kings could possibly be the descendants of Noah, and thus Balthazar can also be shown as the King of Ethiopia. Christians of different backgrounds, though, have many differing beliefs as to where the Kings came from. Some Christians of Chinese descent believe that one of the wise men was Chinese in origin.

These wise men heard or read a prophecy of the birth of the true king, and thus they set out to find Jesus. They went to Herod, King of Jerusalem, to get counsel and he sent them out with the condition that they would return to him afterwards. He wanted to be told where to find the child, saying that it was so he could pay respects to the baby, but he actually wanted to murdered him instead. The three wise men went out to find the baby and began to follow a very bright light in the western sky called the Star of Bethlehem. They found the baby the night he was born, or at least that is what the Nativity Scene makes it seem like (I am not super sure if that detail was ever mentioned anywhere). That night, they had a dream where God warned them of going to Herod. With this, they decided to go back to their kingdoms through another route.

-Blog Barista

To learn some more go here: www.answersingenesis.org/holidays/christmas/we-three-kings/

I am still a little broken over the end of Naruto...

I am still a little broken over the end of Naruto…

Leave a Reply

