Honest Myth:English- Franklin’s Tale

Hawei's_DorigenSo it is finally Saturday, and I get time to write a myth for everyone. Today’s myth was specially requested by TheBetterCup who liked this story. She is kind of a sucker for sweet love stories, but whether she admits to that is another story completely.

I feel like I should write a blog post about an anime or book soon, but I have no time to watch or read anything. I work a full time job as a chemistry tutor, I have to study for all my classes, and I started trying to train for long distance running. It feels like I don’t have time much for leisurely getting to watch new anime or even finish older ones. I was in the middle of Naruto Shippuden when I stopped watching. Oh well, maybe I will try and watch one tonight and create a post tomorrow.

Anyways, Franklin’s Tale revolves around two lovers who respect each other. Fun fact, a franklin is a medieval landowner.

So there are these two lovers, a man named Arveragus and a woman named Dorigen, who treat each other as equals even though it is considered socially wrong to have women equal to men. Arveragus goes to Britain to gain honor, leaving Dorigen alone at a coast in France.

While he is away, she is courted by many suitors, even though she does not want to be. A certain suitor named Aurelius is especially persistent, and to get rid of him she makes the promise that she would marry him if he disposed of all the rocks on the coast of the Brittany Province. He goes and finds a magician who studies arcane arts to use magic and dispose of all the rocks.

After completing the task, he confronts Dorigen and asks her to marry him. Her husband returns, and Dorigen tells him the situation. She promises to kill herself, like other legendary heroines, to protect her honor. He tells her calmly that she has to keep the promise to protect her honor. When Aurelius realizes that he was breaking them apart, he releases Dorigen from her promise. The magician, who witnesses the nobility of Aurelius, cancels the debt that Aurelius owes him.

The end.

To read more go here: http://www.machias.edu/faculty/necastro/chaucer/translation/ct/13frant.html

-Blog Barista

I should be studying right now....

I should be studying right now….

Leave a Reply

