Favorite Books Update: Under Fishbone Clouds

So one of my very first posts had to do with my top ten favorite books. I will leave the link here: http://www.espressocomsaudade.wordpress.com/2014/05/15/books-top-ten-favorites/

f

Under the Fishbone Clouds by Sam Meekings

Anyways, I read a book two months ago that I wanted to write about, but it affected me so deeply that I could not write about it. In June, I went to this used book store and saw this beautiful book that cost $0.50. It was so cheep, and I just loved the front cover. So I bought it and started reading…. Dear goodness this was one of the saddest, most compelling, most beautiful stories I have ever read. I know not everyone will love it as much as I did, but at least pick it up and try it.

The story follows this unnamed Kitchen God from China who has made a deal with the Jade Emperor that he can understand the human heart. If he wins, his soul can finally go to the underworld, and he will reunite with his wife. To understand the human heart, he begins to study the lives of two people beginning from their childhood and into their old age. The story takes place during the Chinese revolution and the up rise of the communist government.

The descriptiveness and vividness is what I most loved about this. It is so detailed and ornate. You really feel like you can smell or feel or taste everything that is described. I really loved the story. By the end, you really begin to feel for the two main characters. I cried, a lot. It made me think about love and life, a lot. I am not sure what the author’s intended reaction was, but I felt so overwhelmed that I could not pick up another serious book for three months. I have been reading really wonderful and fun Star Trek books instead.

Anyways this is definitely one of my favorite books. FYI: it is also considered a magical realism.

13538873Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

Another book that I enjoyed this summer was Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore. This is a really fun, imaginative, and creative book. This is like a really modern idea on wizardry and immortality, but in a way where books are the key to magic.

The story revolves around a young man named Clay Jannon who used to work as web designer, but who has recently lost his job to the recession. Not wanting to stay unemployed, he finds this job to be a cashier at a small book store from 6 in the evening to 6 in the morning. He starts to become very curious with the strange rules of the store and the quirky people who come to check out the books. It all feels so very magical even though there is none what so ever. I definitely suggest it.

Update done, Barista Out!

-Blog Barista

Read these books!

Read these books!

Leave a Reply

