Top 10 Favorite Kpop Songs

TheBetterCup and I are fans of Kpop songs; and for anyone who may not know, Kpop is a music genre from South Korea. It is basically Korean Pop music and has quite a large foreign fan base in the interwebs community. When we decided to make a top ten post for kpop a couple of rules for our choices were set. We did not to pick any artist twice (even though I was tempted to), our choices were based solely on our opinions, and it had to be pop-ish. This will be divided into two sets of mini top 5 Kpop Songs, since I like different songs then TheBetterCup.


THEBETTERCUP’S TOP 5 FAVORITE KPOP SONGS:

5. Shadow by FX

In the K-pop world (and even in J-pop) I find that the female artists make songs that for the most part are not my cup of tea *cough cough* bubble pop *cough cough*; however, I like a good majority of songs made by f(x) and they have taken the spot as my favorite female group. There are a total of five members: the Chinese leader Victoria, the Taiwanese American Amber (personally my favorite member because she reminds me of Makoto from IdolM@ster), the Korean members Luna and Sulli, and lastly Krystal the Korean American member (this is an SM Entertainment group by the way). On average their songs tend to be songs I would listen to, but they never would make it to my top favorites. This song, however, is just so different it breaks through to my top five. When I first heard it I immediately fell in love with it. It has a mystical feel to it that’s kind of creepy at the same time (because it makes me think of puppets). Anyways, the song is original, not following the cliches of pop songs.

4. That X.X. by G. Dragon

Kwon Ji Yong, or G. Dragon, is one of the most popular K-pop idols today. He is the Fashionista of the YG group Big Bang, and he is well known for influencing fashion trends in South Korea. His singles tend to be outrageous, colorful, catchy, and just a mess of symbols (Crayon and Michigo), but the song I pick is nothing like the others. “That XX” is so much calmer, and the best part is that it is an emotional song without being like other pop songs. No one is crying or quivering or trying to grab the sky, which occurs in most k-pop ballads.

3. ADTOY by 2PM

God every time this song plays I start singing. I am not even a fan of 2PM, hell I like none of their songs, but this one. So heres the background info: They are a Jyp idol group, there six members (Jun.K, Nichkun, Taecyeon, Wooyoung, Junho, and Chansung), and they are all in the twenties (hello!). Now ADTOY as a song (I am ignoring the video) is unique and honestly sexy. The fast paced lyrics, the strong steady beat, the escalations through out, and that high note just ties up nicely.

2. Doom DaDa by T.O.P.

Quick facts on Choi Seung-hyun. He is also a member of Big Bang, his stage name is T.O.P, he is known for his beautifully low voice, and stoic/cool persona. Now the song. I am gonna ignore the music video (because that alone is awesome and full of movie references, but not the reason why I like this song). I (unlike the BlogBarista) am not a big fan of rap, but hot reservoir this is my jelly!! TOP just kills it, and I cannot explain just how different this song is compared to your average rap songs. The rap is hypnotic, the sound is creepy and surreal, and the lyrics are abstract (I thought at first they were senseless).

1. Neverland by FT Island

This is a little unfair that I picked this song as my number one, because even though the band is Korean (the first instrumental idol group) the song is originally sung in Japanese; however, out of all of the songs that have come from Korea so far, this is my absolute favorite. Five Treasure Island is a five member pop rock band (Choi Jong-hoon on the guitar/keyboard, Lee Hongki as lead vocalist, Lee Jae Jin on the bass, Song Seung Hyun on the guitar, and Choi Min Hwan on the drums), and their songs are so upbeat. When I first heard the song I thought it belonged as an anime opening/ending (which it is), and its also very emotional. The biggest reason why I like this song, though, is because it reminds me of J-Rock and Punk-Rock, which is my favorite genres of music.

-TheBetterCup


BLOGBARISTA’S TOP 5 FAVORITE KPOP SONGS:

5. No Joke by Block B

Block B is one of those few gems in the Kpop community. The group consists of seven members (Zico, Lee Taeil, B-Bomb, Ahn Jaehyo, U-Kwon, Park Kyung, and P.O) under the label Seven Seasons. The members write and compose some of their releases (more and more as time passes), and a few used to rap underground. This song is the epitome of Block B awesomeness! The lyrics are witty and the song is so catchy and hypes you up.

4. Baby Good Night by B1A4

Even though these are numbered, except for my number one choice, I find it really hard to like one song on this list more than another. So B1A4 may be listed as number four, but I really really love Baby Goodnight. B1A4 is a South Korean idol group made of four male members (CNU, Jinyoung, Sandeul, Baro, and Gongchan). They debuted in 2011 under the label of WM Entertainment. Usually when you listen to Kpop, you will not like every song an artist releases. Most times you will like one song from one person and one from another and so on and so on. Yet with a couple of groups (usually ones that do not change styles often), you may find that you like a little more of their releases. Well, B1A4 is one of the few groups that I liked more than a handful of what they made. This song is really fun, and the tune is catchy (most their songs tend to be this way). Its upbeat and definitely puts me in a good mood.

3. Smile by Cho Kyunhyun

Kyunhyun is a twenty six year old singer, best known for being a member of the top Kpop boy band called SuperJunior. I am not really a fan of SuperJunior (I dislike most of their songs), but dear goodness I love smooth jazz. I have a whole playlist filled with Smooth jazz (many from South Korea), but this one is one of my all time favorites. It is soft, and pleasing to hear. I usually listen to it when I study. I just cannot get enough.

2. Boogie On and On by Beenzino

Beenzino is a relatively new rap/hip-hop artist. I only just heard of him this past fall, but I just adored his song Boogie On and On. His voice is so smooth (almost a little sultry) as he sings about being in a party mood. His rise in popularity is do to his excellent rap skills that do not feel as forced as many raps tend to be in Kpop. I am not sure if he really counts as being part of the pop genre, but this is kind of pop like so, yeah. I like Beenzino’s music, because it feels casual and like he really felt in like partying when he recorded the song.

1. No More Perfume by Teen Top

Teen Top is my favorite artist group in the Kpop genre. They are South Korean boy band featuring six members (C.A.P, Chunji, L.Joe, Niel, Ricky and Changjo). They were founded by Andy Lee (Kpop artist of the 90s) under the TOP Media label. I love a large quantity of what they have released, and it was through them that I was introduced to Kpop. I had seen some SNSD and SuperJunior before, but I only really started liking it when I listened to Teen Top’s No More Perfume on You. I love the beat, I love the tune, I love their voices, and over all I just love the song. Now I know that there has been a lot of negative opinions about the song because of the message, but it does not bother me. I see it as nothing more than a song, one that does exactly what songs are meant to do, makes me wanna dance and sing and makes me happy. If this song is not much up your alley, I recommend trying some other of their songs like Mad At U or Be My Girl, most are pretty good (I don’t suggest Angel, though). This song is my all time favorite.

-BlogBarista

 

Here is an extra song. Kwill is by far the idol that transcends all others. His songs do not disappoint, and he is so wonderful that TheBetterCup and I refused to include him on the list because we could not pick a song. But I leave you with this song because trust me, there is no way to dislike it.

Leave a Reply

